Friday Musings

In many ways this blog is more journal than anything else.  That’s not bad, of course, just a realization on my part.

Presidential politics are annoying to me.  Regardless of whom you support, the entire process gets out of hand.  People are so intent on telling you the negative things about the opponent, you rarely hear the good things about the one you support.  I’ve had the opportunity participate in two public opinion polls in the past five days – which makes me wonder if people who don’t own land lines get to participate in the polls as well – and, in my opinion, it seems the questions are phrased in ways to  get you to answer in a certain way.  I answered truthfully.  Although I wanted to answer just to confuse the results.

I’ve got some great friends.  We experienced a glitch in selling our house this week, and upon hearing the news a friend commented to my wife something to the effect of: “I really hope something good happens for you guys, it’s been awhile.”  Charles is a good guy.  He doesn’t completely understand why we do what we do, but he’s my friend and he supports our decisions!  A few years ago Charles refused to speak to a newspaper reporter asking questions about a story on me because he knew the reporter would twist his words in a negative way.  When I left a job at FBC Inverness, Charles came to the church service that day, sat with Cyndi and me, and then took us to breakfast afterwards.  Charles is the kind of  guy you would be lucky to have as your friend.

Great conversations this week with my wife Cyndi.  Many about the sovereignty of God and believing that He knows what’s best for us and that He has a plan for us.  She has some great wisdom and insight.  I’m lucky she loves me!  One of our conversations revolved around the fact that if God was in control yesterday then He is in control today and He will be in control tomorrow.  If things were going our way and He was in control, then He is still in control if things don’t seem to go our way!  This is easy to say when things are good – can be more difficult to acknowledge when things are not as good!

Cyndi’s cousin spent last night with us as she was nearby for work.  I don’t think I have encountered someone who loves their job as much as she does in a long time!  It was refreshing to hear her retell events that have taken place, about her coworkers and her general enjoyment about how her job impacts youth.  She works in the juvenile justice system and does have an impact on the future.

Sometime I’m going to express my complete thoughts about all the discussions on health care.  Right now I’m frustrated with the application process we are going through in applying for health insurance.  We haven’t had health insurance in almost two years – because I can’t afford it!  We recently spent almost two hours with an agent completing an application for Blue Cross Blue Shield health insurance.  Two weeks later we received a list of additional questions based on claims we had made almost ten years earlier with BCBS.  While I know it’s important in the underwriting process, I also know BCBS has access to all of that information.  I really dislike the process and I really dislike the interaction with health insurance when it’s time to make a claim.  I’m glad our friend Annette got to participate in the universal coverage provided by the United Kingdom when she battled cancer a few years back – at least she didn’t have to battle an insurance company as well.

Thankful for the people in our lives who continue to lift us up in prayer and encourage us!  It’s rare to have people in your lives like that.  If you have some, cultivate their friendships.  If you don’t, then be a friend to someone and encourage them!

About Lee Ellzey

Christ Follower, Husband, Father. Like to read. Like to help others. Learning to love life more than ever! View all posts by Lee Ellzey

Leave a Reply

