Awesome!

Monday nights are community group nights for us and last night was a good one!  Well attended and lots of conversation, laughter and good discussion about God as our Father.

We are looking at the Apostle’s Creed and focused on the first line last night:  “I believe in God the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.”  Most of our discussion centered on how our relationship with our earthly father fashions our perspective of our heavenly Father – both good and bad.  Some seem to lean towards a loving God while others have a deep respect for His sovereignty and almighty power.  Both are right.  As folks began describing how they view our Father almighty, I remained silent.  After it was over someone asked my point blank how I would describe “almighty”.

I don’t really know how to describe that and give justice to a definition.  I’m reminded of something James McDonald taught a few years ago about the greatness of God.  We tend to say a lot of things are awesome – that cookie was awesome, that sunset was awesome, that dress is awesome, she is awesome – but in reality only God is awesome and as we lessen the impact of the word by describing things on earth as awesome, we minimize how we view God.  Only God is awesome and only God is almighty.

I don’t want to minimize my view of God by describing Him in terms that I can apply to other things!  I want to have a big view of God.  I want to pray bigger prayers and expect bigger things because I believe in an awesome God – who really is almighty!

How do you describe the Father almighty?

About Lee Ellzey

Christ Follower, Husband, Father. Like to read. Like to help others. Learning to love life more than ever! View all posts by Lee Ellzey

2 responses to “Awesome!

Leave a Reply

