Faith and Finances

I have a confession. 

I had begun to feel sorry for myself the last few weeks.  This unemployment thing was beginning to get to me.  Nine months without a paycheck was starting to affect my self esteem.  I was questioning a lot of different things – not the least of which was my judgement!  Afterall I am a husband and a father and I still have financial responsibilities in this life!

About the same time as I began this self pity party, God provided some areas for Cyndi and I to take a huge leadership role in.  Our church is faced with some good issues – ones that come with rapid growth.  Our experience and knowledge are going to prove valuable in these areas.

The first area God has shown me we can lead is in finances.  Finances?  I know I just admitted to being unemployed for more than nine months!  But God is bigger than employment!  Cyndi and I have had the opportunities over the past two weeks to share our faith in God to provide, to be bigger than any financial issue and to encourage others to give – yes, to give.  To give obediently, to give gladly, to give without regret, to view giving as not only a responsibility but an opportunity – an opportunity to worship!

Everything I have, everthing I have ever had and everything I may have in the future is His.  He has entrusted me with a lot of resources.  What I do with them is a test.  One I hope to pass!

God doesn’t need our money.  It’s his to begin with.

As Cyndi and I share the responsibility and blessing of giving, it’s our hope that others will begin to grow and understand that God wants to use our resources as we give them back to him – as we surrender ourselves to Him.

We often think that giving is a financial issue – and to some who have become slaves to debt, it appears to be a financial issue.  But giving is really a heart issue – it’s a measure of our relationship with God.  Not that if we give a larger $$ amount than anyone else we have a better relationship with God – not that at all.  But our love for God and our relationship with Him should be evident in all areas of our lives – the things we treasure show our true love.

God used the past two weeks to show me He has some great things in store for us.  I really am excited to see what it will be!

 

About Lee Ellzey

Christ Follower, Husband, Father. Like to read. Like to help others. Learning to love life more than ever! View all posts by Lee Ellzey

Leave a Reply

