When No is a Good Thing

Yesterday I received my first rejection letter from a ministry application.  I think it was a good thing!

Before I tell you why it’s a good thing, it’s an ironic funny story:  It has been no secret that my current position as Executive Pastor is a difficult situation.  The church I work in needs direction, administration, leadership – the church people aren’t ready for someone to perform those tasks!  A few weeks ago I received a random telephone call from a senior pastor in another city.  We talked for over an hour about the open position his church has as Exec. Pastor, what they are looking for, my experience and talents and my passion for teaching and helping the poor.  He asked me to send my resume which I did.  Yesterday, I received the form letter indicating I didn’t fit what they were looking for and they wished me well in my continued search.  Hello, you asked me to send you my resume!

Come to find out, this no was a good thing.  See, I’m not really hung up on some of the legalistic processes and values that church holds high.  I’m very much more concerned about the billions of people in this world who have never heard the Gospel.  I’m much more compelled to continue to find ways to serve the poor, feed the hungry, care for widows and orphens – you know, the very things Jesus commanded us to do!

I  wish that pastor and his church well.  I hope they find the perfect person to fill their opening.  Thank you God that it wasn’t me!

About Lee Ellzey

Christ Follower, Husband, Father. Like to read. Like to help others. Learning to love life more than ever! View all posts by Lee Ellzey

Leave a Reply

